Ihr Browser versucht gerade eine Seite aus dem sogenannten Internet auszudrucken. Das Internet ist ein weltweites Netzwerk von Computern, das den Menschen ganz neue Möglichkeiten der Kommunikation bietet.

Da Politiker im Regelfall von neuen Dingen nichts verstehen, halten wir es für notwendig, sie davor zu schützen. Dies ist im beidseitigen Interesse, da unnötige Angstzustände bei Ihnen verhindert werden, ebenso wie es uns vor profilierungs- und machtsüchtigen Politikern schützt.

Sollten Sie der Meinung sein, dass Sie diese Internetseite dennoch sehen sollten, so können Sie jederzeit durch normalen Gebrauch eines Internetbrowsers darauf zugreifen. Dazu sind aber minimale Computerkenntnisse erforderlich. Sollten Sie diese nicht haben, vergessen Sie einfach dieses Internet und lassen uns in Ruhe.

Die Umgehung dieser Ausdrucksperre ist nach §95a UrhG verboten.

Mehr Informationen unter www.politiker-stopp.de.


MacGeeks Podcast episode 5- Time Machine

8 10 2008
  • deutsch

Here’s the 5th episode of MacGeeks Podcast. I talk about the Time Machine annoyances I wrote about in the last posting.

Podcast URL: http://www.mac-geeks.de/wp-content/podcasts/podcast.xml
Audio-File: http://media.mac-geeks.de/MGPC5.mp3

[Slashdot] [Digg] [Reddit] [del.icio.us] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]





Time Machine annoyances

7 10 2008
  • deutsch

Last weekend I reinstalled MacOS X Leopard on my MacBook Pro for it had some strange errors I couldn’t get rid of. Of course I did a Time Machine backups ahead to have my data safe during reinstallation. I didn’t chose to restore my personal account from a Time Machine backup during the installation as I wanted a clean and fresh system with all programs and settings setup up new and manually. This time I selected to create FileVault user account. This means my home folder is actually an encrypted image file. This image file will be descrypted and mounted as my home directory during login and gets automatically closed and encrypted when I log out.

This worked very well for the first hours. But then during manual installation of some programs and copying my backed up files a kernel panic occured with the grey screen of death. That’s the last thing you wanna see when you have a mounted encrypted image.

After reboot I still was able to login and everything looked OK. But my keychain was damaged. This wasn’t a big problem for the moment as there where only a few apps which made entries there. I repaired the broken keychain and everything was OK.

Then, after finishing my restore I tried to delete the old Time Machine backups from my external disks. This isn’t as easy as it seems. Just dragging it into the Trash bin and empty the Trash will take hours as the Backup consists of million of files. I tried that before….

This time I tried to delete the Backups.backupdb folder from the disk with simple Unix commands (rm -rf ). But this doesn’t work firsthand. Even as superuser I wasn’t able to delete the files. Always got a “no permission” error message. I then checked the usual suspects mds (Spotlight Metadata Service) and hidden file attributes (xattribs). But that didn’t helped.

Finally I connected the disk to another MacBook with the old Tiger 10.4 MacOS X and tried to erase the files over there. This worked well. So Tiger doesn’t care about special settings of these files and did it’s job.

After that I tried to start a fresh and clean backup with Time Machine again. But Time Machine told me that it couldn’t do a backup of a FileVault secured home folder while the user is logged in. This is logical but sad. As this is a laptop computer and I’m the only user I’m almost always logged in when this machine is on. And to extra log off to have a backup done is not really practical. So I decided to kick FileVault for a convinient Time Machine backup. This took a lot of space on my hard disk during the unencryption and about 2 hours.

But now everything is fresh and clean and even PictureSync is working properly again.

[Slashdot] [Digg] [Reddit] [del.icio.us] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]





getting rid of old Time Maschine backups

16 05 2008
  • deutsch

If your Time Maschine backup volumes filles up you may get a warning message from Time Maschine. It tells you that Time Maschine has deleted the oldest backup set to gain enough space for the actual backup. You can acknowledge the message and even opt to not see it in the future. Time Maschine will then automatically remove oldest backups when needed.
TM 1
But the deletion of old backups will take some extra time on almost every backup. So maybe you wanna get rid of some old backups manually. This can easily be achieved by starting Time Maschine, navigating to the backup you want to delete and selecting the little gear icon in the Finder. There is an option “Delete Backup”. This will remove this point in time of your backup after asking for your authorization.
TM 3
TM 4
If you removed a couple of backup sets to be removed Time Maschine will need some time to wipe all the files. You will see a progress window like when flushing the trash can.
After the clean up you should have enough space for your next couple of backups. You should not delete any files or folders from the backup volume by your self. Time Maschine is doing an intelligent sparse backup. If you delete files or folders manually you may destroy the consistency of your backup and thus make it useless.

Technorati Tags: , , ,

[Slashdot] [Digg] [Reddit] [del.icio.us] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]